Southern Fried Mushrooms and Cheese Grits

Hey, yall!

Last night I made such a delicious meal- I really felt like I stuck my entire foot in it (not literally, though). It was by far, the best vegan dish I ever made. I hope you get a chance to try it out and surprise your family, like I surprised mine.

Fried Mushrooms

  • 2 cups of cornmeal
  • 2 cups of Louisiana Fish Fry Meal (trust me, it’s necessary)
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk
  • 2 packs of your favorite mushroom ( I used an assortment amount but oyster mushrooms work perfectly)
  • 1 cup of coconut amigos or low sodium soy sauce (you can omit this, if you like)
  • Your favorite egg replacement (just egg, egg replacement)

Cheese Grits

  • Instant Grits
  • 1/4 stick of earth balance
  • 2 cups of vegan cheese ( i used Daiya shredds)
  • 1/4 cup of non dairy creamer
  • 2 cups of non dairy milk

Marinate the mushrooms in a bag with the coconut amigos/soy sauce for about an hour. Take a ziplock bag and include all dried ingredients in a bag. Take the mushroom out of the sauce and dip it in the egg replacer and put it in the ziplock bag. Shake it well.

Add your favorite oil in a pan on medium heat. When its hot, carefully add the mushrooms. Turn it over every minute and a half.

Follow instructions on instant grits box. Once cooked, add non dairy creamer and cheese and butter and stir thoroughly. Melt some butter with a couple of tbsp of hotsauce. stir and drizzle over mushrooms. Enjoy while hot!

Mushrooms and Cheese Grits

Leave a comment