Does this even work?

Thanks for joining me! Let me first introduce myself. My name is Veronica Howard and I am a millennial that has a passion for health +wellness as well as family life with a sprinkle of ALL things black girl magik. This blog will follow different recipes I’ve made in my insta stories, wellness tips, and all things sassy + spicy

Image result for motherhood

This first post will be brief. Since I am a first time mom, giving birth vaginally (of course I am aware plans can change) I have been reading books and scientific articles about ANY and ALL methods that will reduce the pain that I am getting ready to experience. While doing so I stumbled upon research about the positive benefits of Dates. Now I don’t believe everything I read but there are a few sites that I deem very credible based on the source and research Nutritionfacts.org is one of those sites that back all of their studies with credible research that is current. Link: https://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-food-for-labor-and-delivery/

Image result for dates

Anyway, Dr. Gregor’s post regarding the benefits of dates blew my mind! Based off of a few clinical studies, dates have the potential to open the cervix (which will allow you to avoid being induced). It also has the potential to decrease blood loss after deliver and reduce labor up to 2 hours! Sounds amazing for a first time mom that has no clue how she will handle labor. Without making this super lengthy + scientific, according to the Journal of Midwifery and Reproductive Health ” Date fruit also influences estrogen and progesterone hormones, which are effective in preparing the uterus and cervical ripening (16).” http://jmrh.mums.ac.ir/pdf_2772_b142d1addcd29393341f33980192b552.html

-So I started eating those pricey dates around week 36.

-I am now currently 38 weeks and while the baby has dropped some, my cervix is still closed and I have not experienced any contractions.

-This week, I plan to eat more dates on a regular basis and hopefully I will see good results. I’ll keep you all updated.

**** Since this post, on July 22nd I had my beautiful baby girl. I will write an update post about if the dates helped with delivery and/or postpartum. Thanks to all who sent warm words of encouragement and kindness ****

Leave a comment