Tis the season for… Elderberry!

Hey yall! As the seasons have changed and covid is still…here…I decided to gather the essentials for staying safe, clean and healthy. One of the latest trends in the world of nutrition is elderberry.

While I’ve heard of elderberry in the past, I’ve never utilized it in my own household. So once Gabby turned 2, I began giving her the gummies from Zarbees. Now…disclaimer.. I’m not a doctor….I have noticed a difference in Gabrielle’s health- less colds! So it could either be the Elderberry or her immune system getting stronger or a combination of both- which led me to start taking it as well. The downside of the gummies, in my opinion, is the excess sugar (which Gabby would probably say is the highlight of the gummy for her). While I have a strong sweet tooth myself, I don’t really want to consume my love of sugar through a vitamin. So I decided to try making my own syrup.

The ingredients are listed below and while it took only 5 ingredients to throw in a pot, it smelled horribly! I plan to take it only when I feel a cold coming on. It’s not recommended as a preventative (even though the gummies are expected to be taken daily…weird…yes, I know). But I am super excited about my little creation. Make sure to consult with a doctor if you want to make your own homemade version because if you are allergic..that’s on you. I don’t plan to give it to Gabby just yet since studies have provided insufficient data on the exact amount the syrup should be consumed for two year olds. The shelf life is 3 months, so I have it in a closed jar in the back of the fridge. Have you tried homemade elderberry syrup? Have you created it? What are your thoughts?

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¼ cup of dates
  • 2 ½ cups of hot water

Steep dates with water for 30 minutes. Place the dates and water in blender

Elderberry Syrup

  • ¾ cup dried elderberries
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 teaspoon of whole glove
  • 2 tbsp of ground cinnamon
  • Add date syrup

Put all of the ingredients (minus date syrup) in a pot and boil. Reduce heat and cover for 40 minutes. Add date syrup and allow the mixture to cool and rest. Pour into cheese cloth.

Store in refrigerator for 3 months.

Leave a comment